THE RETURN OF THE MAGNIFICENT SEVEN

For a very long time I have wanted to see and have imagined a modern retelling of one of my favorite westerns of all time: The Magnificent Seven. Some time last year I heard a rumor that they were remaking this movie but I wasn’t sure it was actually true. I recently thought about that rumor and decided to look up on the ‘net whether or not this information was accurate or if the movie was still being made. What I found has me extremely excited about the upcoming film.

One of the rumors I had previously heard was that Denzel Washington was linked to the film and it turned out this is very true. Now if you’ve seen the original you no doubt remember it’s all-star cast of heavy hitters. Of course my favorite character the good guy in black was Chris played by Yul Brynner in the original. My question was who Denzel would be playing and according to Wikipedia Denzel will be playing Chris in the upcoming remake. If you haven’t seen the original I highly recommend watching it and imagining how good Denzel will be playing that character.

Of course there are other high profile stars attached to the film which suggest this is really going to be a great movie. These include Chris Pratt from Guardians of the Galaxy, Ethan Hawke Denzel’s costar in Training Day, and Byung-hun Lee from the G.I. Joe movies and RED 2. And the movie is being directed by Antoine Fuqua who also directed Training Day and The Equalizer. The film was to have been scored by James Horner, who died before the film’s completion. It appears however that before his passing James Horner scored the film and intended to surprise Antoine Fuqua. I have yet to see a trailer for the film but I can’t wait to see how this looks. From a killer cast, a great director, and an iconic composer, and a remake of a classic film this has the potential to be one of the greatest films of the year. And when you consider all the movies coming out this year from Civil War; Dawn of Justice; and Apocalypse that’s saying a whole lot. Stay tuned I’ll have more info as it becomes available.

Leave a Reply

